Splish, Splash I was taking a ….. swim across the Channel!

A few weeks back an equally mad friend told me that she was swimming the channel. My immediate thoughts were eww jellyfish and having to wear a bucket of lard to keep you warm… But NO, this is an entirely civilised swim in your local swimming pool over 12 weeks (thankfully as it’s 1,416 lengths!) to help raise money for Aspire, a great charity who help people with spinal injuries.  Of course I said I would do it too……of course I’ve now just missed a week’s swimming with the annual September-back-to-school cold, but if I stick to an average of 2 miles (128 lengths) a week, I should do it comfortably….I hope!

Here’s my progress so far in the form of a groovy little map!

Now, the only problem is, am I conning those who have sponsored me so far?! To call what I do “swimming” is a bit of a cheat I’ve come to think (lets face it, there’s plenty of time to think when you’re plodding up and down the pool that much!). As I’m spending so much time at the pool people are actually starting to question what I’m doing instead of a swimming stroke. Can’t do crawl as my ears are too dodgy anyhow without pool water to help them, can’t do breast stroke as my arms will either do what they are meant to do, or my legs will do what they are meant to do but both won’t do the proper thing at the same time… My dad always used to tell me off for splashing people when I was little so I altered my doggy paddle to be completely underwater. Over the years I’ve honed this so that the arm bit is longer than doggy paddle and my legs don’t actually do anything at all. I seem to have a bit of a Shakira thing going on with my hips rotating instead…..  Sounds odd, but it does work I promise. Maybe I should patent it?! But in the meantime, let them laugh, I’m swimming the Channel without jellyfish or lard and I’m proud of it, and I hope to make those who have sponsored me proud too :)

And I'm off.....!

And I’m off…..!

2 thoughts on “Splish, Splash I was taking a ….. swim across the Channel!

Leave a Reply

